From The Ice

Team North America final roster named for World Cup

Team North America at the World Cup of Hockey is the only age-restricted team, made up of the best and brightest Canadian and US-born players at or under the age of 23.

Some of the names for the ‘young stars’ roster have been a shoo-in since the preliminary roster was announced on March 2nd. Connor McDavid and Jack Eichel of the Edmonton Oilers and Buffalo Sabres? Givens. Aaron Ekblad, former first overall pick? Also guaranteed for the blue line. Goaltender Connor Hellebuyck? As one of the most dynamic young goaltenders to hit the NHL in the 2015-16 season, he was a lock as well.

Some of the spots were still up in the air, though, until Friday – and now, they’ve been filled:

Some of the remaining names given are hardly surprising. Shayne Gostisbehere of the Philadelphia Flyers, who is in contention for the Calder Trophy for the NHL’s Rookie of the Year, nabbed one of the remaining blue line spots – although shockingly, one of them wasn’t Carolina Hurricanes blue liner Noah Hanifin.

Mark Scheifele of the Winnipeg Jets and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins of the Edmonton Oilers also earned nods of their own for the forward corps, as did Jonathan Drouin of the Tampa Bay Lightning – and one player who has yet to be drafted altogether, 2016 first overall projected Auston Matthews. The absence of names like Max Domi, though, may raise some eyebrows.

To Top