From The Ice

NHL announces Selke Trophy finalists

Yesterday the NHL announced the finalists for the Vezina Trophy, and tonight we learned who would be competing for the Frank J. Selke Trophy. Ahead of puck drop between the Washington Capitals and Pittsburgh Penguins, we learned that Ryan Kesler of the Anaheim Ducks, Anze Kopitar of the L.A. Kings and Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins were the three finalists.

The Selke Trophy is annually awarded to the best two-way player in the national hockey league. Bergeron has won three of the last four Selke awards, while Kesler won back in 2010-11.

It’s one of the most interesting awards going into Las Vegas, as we have a much greater understanding of how sound defense impacts play than we did 10 years ago. There is quantifiable evidence to support voters and their choices, and it’s always curious to see who votes for who during the summer.

Can Bergeron continue his dominance of the award? Or will Kopitar be able to win his first as the NHL’s best two-way player? As with any award, social media was quick to respond to the nominations. Joe Thornton made a late push into the conversation but was left off of the final list, while some were surprised to see the Bruins veteran forward on the list this season.

Actor Will Arnett will host this year’s version of the NHL awards, where the Selke will be one of the various trophies the league hands out on June 22 in Las Vegas.

To Top